58 students named Myrdis Walker Scholars

WEST COLUMBIA, S.C. -- Fifty-eight Lexington Two students will be inducted into the Myrdis Walker Scholars program this month.

The program recognizes African-American students in eighth through 12th grades who have demonstrated academic excellence. An induction ceremony is set for 7 p.m. February 18 at the Lexington Two Innovation Center.

Eligible students must be identified as gifted, according to the South Carolina criteria, or have acquired a class rank in the top 15 percent of his/her high school class.  An additional goal of the program is to establish a peer support group of outstanding African-American student scholars in the district. The program is named for Myrdis Walker, who taught for many years at the former R. Earle Davis Elementary School in Lexington Two.

This year’s inductees from the district's two high schools and four middle schools include:


Airport High: Lillie Brady, Tavaras Holmes, Shania Mims

Brookland-Cayce High: Tamia Barden, Te’Killa Jones, Melanie Owens, Olivia Warren


Busbee Creative Arts Academy: Devak Asberry,  Cameron Boyd, Ajarea Brooks, Cassidy Callahan,  Noah Chambers, Peri’yaun General, Nayana Glover,  Timothy Graham, Tirzah Graham, Amarren Hopkins, Denaji James, DaVaun Johnson, La’tresa Middleton, Rayvan Murphy, Maurianna Richardson, Hope Riley, Ciara Simms, Audrey Williams                                                        


Northside Middle: Brianna Armstrong-Jenkins, Ava Butts, Martin Charles, Paris Beaty, Giovanni Smith, Azirus Williams

Pine Ridge Middle: Faith Agutu,  Marcus Davis, Casey Duncan, Sandria Larkin, Madalyn Miller, Kayla Whitfield

Fulmer Middle:  Aaron Clyburn, Jaylin Conyers, Chise Corbitt, Londyn Couch, Sydney Edmond, Laila Elliott, Omarion Fladger,  Elijah Gaymon, Jalen Graham, Elias Guest-McCray, Trissta Hale, Tanija Israel, Gloria Jacobs, Micah Jamison, Ta’Leesha Jones, Iyanna King, Paige Moore, Anthony Muller, Jayla Westbrook, Isabella Whetzel, Lewis Wider